In order to maintain strict data integrity in our database, we won't allow records to be deleted if they are linked to other records. For example:
- Resource user records are linked to timesheet records,
- Timesheet records have been used in an invoice,
- Clients are linked to projects or invoices,
- Projects are linked to timesheets and invoices,
- and so on.
You will see an error message explaining why we can't delete the record. This is not the case if the record has just been added to your account and is not yet linked or used in the system. Sometimes, you may be able to delete the linked record in order to delete the record in question. But this might not always be the case.
Our general recommendation is to make the record in question inactive rather than deleting it. In the case of Resource users, this decrements the active user subscription count by 1 and thus can be used to create another Resource user in the system.
Deleting timesheet records
Timesheet records are a special case: they are locked when the timesheet has been submitted for approval, or the timesheet records have been exported to payroll or used in an invoice. If the timesheet has been submitted, you can set the timesheet to Resubmit to unlock the timesheet records.
Hover your mouse over the Lock icon in a timesheet record to see what activity is locking this record. You can then speak to your supervisor about whether and how to unlock this record.
If you are using TimeSite Pro during a trial period, you can reload all demo data, including any timesheet records that you have added to your account, will be deleted when you reload your demo data or reset your account when you are about to establish your subscription.
See Remove / Reload Data for more information on resetting your trial account.